Employee List

The Employee List window can be accessed through Setup >> Users and Access >> Employee List and is used to quickly locate an employee record or to generate a quick list of employees that can be printed.

Parts of the Employee List Window

Opens the Theatre Manager online help.
This button is not accessible because new employees must be added through the Patron Window. It is on the window for consistency. For more information on adding employees click here.
Opens the selected employee record for editing. For more information on editing employee access click here.
This button is not accessible because new employees must be added through the Patron Window. It is on the window for consistency. For more information on adding employees click here.
Deletes the selected employee. This button is only accessible if the employee can be deleted (if they have no history tied to their login).
Generates a report of the employee list to the screen or default print location.
Exports out the employee list in a tab-delimited format.
Opens the Patron Window. For more information on the Patron Window, click here.
Open the selected Employee Preferences for the selected employee. For more information on Employee Preferences, click here.
Merges the selected employee records into one. If you are trying to merge two patrons together that are employees, you must do a two step process:
Initials Unique employee initials.
Last Name Last name of the employee.
First Name First name of the employee.
Address Line 1 Employee address.
Address Line 2 Employee address.
City City the employee resides in.
Province Province or State the employee resides in.
Postal Code Postal or Zip Code for the employee.
Title Job title of the employee.
Tran Source Department within Theatre Manager the employee is assigned to.
Outlet-Owner If using outlet edition, the outlet the user is assigned to.
Primary Phone Primary telephone number for the employee.
Primary E-Mail Employee's primary email address.
Primary Fax Employee's primary fax number.
Web Employee's web site.
Patron # Employee's patron #.
The fields listed above are the default columns listed for the Theatre Map List window, but the columns can be changed to suit your needs. For more details on changing column preferences, click here.

Finding Employees in the Employee List Window

To find an employee, you would perform the following steps:

  1. Click Setup >> Users and Access >> Employee Setup

  2. Make a selection from the drop down list and enter a value.

    To access all employees leave the From and To fields empty.

  3. Click the Search button.

    The results of the search are displayed in the Employee List window.

    For more information on the Employee List window click here.

Merging Employee Records

Merging two patrons who are both employees requires two steps:
  • You must merge the employee record first. This has the effect of changing all the records where the changed by, entered by, printed by, etc in the first employee to be the employee that you merge into.
  • Then you can merge the patron records, since one of the patrons will not longer have an employee record.

 

Why must two patrons who are employees have their employee records merged first

The rule is that you cannot merge an employee into a patron. Th reason is that every record in the system it tagged with one employee's name or another for the various entered by, changed by, sold by, printed by (etc) fields -- and deleting the employee would leave a referential integrity problem -- records would have missing data.

 

What if I want to eliminate somebody as an employee

As mentioned above, you can't simply delete the employee record to make them a non-employee. But there is a simple trick to allow you to remove the employee record. You can:

  • Select all the people you don't want to have an employee record on the employee list.
  • ALSO SELECT YOURSELF
  • Merge the selected people together INTO YOURSELF

This may sound scary, but effectively you are just assigning all their changed by information on records to be yourself. Then it deletes the employee record.

Now that those people are no longer employees, you can merge them as you would any other patron.